4 Oct 2019

Help to find the next winners of the St David Awards – the national awards of Wales.

St Davids Awards

The 2019 St David Award winners

The St David Awards have been running for seven years and the event is a firm part of the Welsh calendar.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of people from all walks of life in Wales.

Two new categories are being introduced for 2020 - the St David Award for Community Spirit, which will honour people who worked to improve their local community and the St David Humanitarian Award to honour an individual or group from Wales, which has improved the lives of others, either in Wales or internationally.

First Minister Mark Drakeford said: 'Nominations for the St David Awards are now open and anyone can put forward someone they think deserves an award, whether they're a colleague, friend, neighbour or family member.

'The St David Awards are the national awards of Wales and we want to hear about people's exceptional achievements.

'The Awards are the chance to recognise and celebrate our everyday heroes, innovators and entrepreneurs, people making a positive difference to our communities.

'This year we have introduced two new categories to give more people the opportunity to have their contribution to Wales recognised.

'The nomination process is very simple, so do your own good deed today and suggest a worthy winner.'

Last year's winners included Andrew Niinemae, who stopped a car ploughing into a group of people; Bethan Owen, a young carer who runs a not-for-profit karate club for other young carers and 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas.

Nominations for the 2020 Awards close on 17 October.

To nominate someone, go the St David Awards website.