The Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011 makes Welsh an official language in Wales. This means it must be treated no less favourably than English.

The Welsh Language Commissioner has published Welsh Language Standards, as set out by the Welsh Government under Section 44 of the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011. These Standards will apply to WCVA from 25 January 2017.

The Standards

The Standards are a set of legally binding requirements that aim to improve the bilingual service that the people of Wales can expect to receive from a number of public and statutory bodies.  WCVA is also included. The Standards clearly set out what our responsibilities are in terms of providing bilingual services, ensuring the Welsh language is not treated any less favourably than the English language. 

The Language Standards are divided into five different categories

  • Service Delivery
  • Policy Making
  • Operational
  • Record Keeping
  • Promotion

WCVA is required to comply with Standards for Service Delivery, Policy Making, Operational, and Record Keeping.

Compliance notice

A compliance notice was issued to WCVA on 25 July 2016 setting out which standards apply to WCVA. The full Compliance Notice is available below. (Please click the image.) 

compliance pic e

Ensuring compliance

We will record how we are ensuring compliance with the Standards in our Compliance with the Welsh Language Standards document which is available here.

Here is our annual report in relation to 2017-18.